So Long, Farewell Auf Wiedersehen, Adieu

11 May

Auf Widersehen?  What the heck is that?

As I have shared before, I am leaving for Australia today!  I will be volunteering for 2 weeks with Conservation Volunteers Australia out of Melbourne.  While I am so excited about this adventure, I will be incommunicato for the entire time, which means No New Blog Posts 😦  Just as I am starting to get in my blogging stride I have to take a hiatus for a couple weeks!  I hope my blog can survive over the next couple weeks and I can get right back into my blogging when I return.  Readers, please stay with me!! 🙂

Before I leave, I want to share a little bit more about my running routines.  Since I run first thing in the morning, I have to grab something small and quick before heading out on my run.  I have tried a few different things from toast to wasa crackers, nuts, milk, cereal, fruit...you get the point!  The thing with running is that for most people, me included, your stomach can make or break runs.  Since you’re moving a lot, eating the wrong thing can lead to nausea or the “rock in the stomach” feeling, neither of which anyone wants for a good hour+ run!  My perfect go-to food before a run = Bananas!

I have tried putting peanut butter on my banana before also, but again, not so good for my stomach.  A plain banana digests well, is still a good high carb fruit, and I’m convinced the Potassium helps wake me up! This is just works for me though!  Everyone is different, and it’s important to figure out what is best for your body and your stomach if you plan on running a good distance.  If I don’t have a banana readily available, I usually do a Kid’s Cliff Bar – Choco Chip is my fav!  Tastes just like Chips Ahoy chewy choc chip cookie in my opinion!

And not that I’m trying to convert anyone to my Banana eating ways, but the website Skinny in the City did a great information banana write up today!  Read about all the great benefits of bananas as part of a meal or as a snack!

Here are some more helpful links for how to fuel pre and post run!  Don’t underestimate how important the right kind of foods can help fuel your training and make you a better runner 🙂

Pre-Race Meals

What to eat after the gym

Snack your way to a good workout

Leave a comment